business PROGRAM

program subject to regular updates

May 16, 2022

8:30 am - 11:30 am

1:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Core Workshop - Morning Session

Core Workshop - Afternoon Session

5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Ice Breaker Reception - Exhibition Area - hosted by the University of Regina

All delegates, speakers, exhibitors and sponsors welcome

May 17, 2022

LOCATION: Trentino/Tuscany 

7:00 am - 8:00 am

Registration and Continental Breakfast

8:00 am - 8:10 am

Welcome Remarks, Land Acknowledgement and Prayer

Erik Nickel, Director of Operations, Petroleum Technology Research Centre (PTRC)


Elder Jim Pratt

8:10 am - 8:30 am

Opening Address

Honourable Bronwyn Eyre, Minister of Energy & Resources, Government of Saskatchewan

8:30 am - 8:50 am

Understanding Upstream GHG intensity of the Bakken

Mitra Roustapisheh, Sr Research Analyst, Global Oil-US, S&P Global

8:50 am - 10:00 am

Saskatchewan's Energy Transition: The Business, Technology and Skills We Need Now and in the Future


While the goal to mitigate climate change by reducing greenhouse gas emissions is clear, the path to achieve net zero is a multi-faceted challenge.   There is technology that requires development, capital that must be deployed to implement it and a value proposition to justify the investment.  Alongside these projects, there are socio-economic factors as well, including training and transitioning our workforce as our economy shifts to new areas.   Given the complexity, risks and costs, collaboration will be key.   Join us for a panel discussion with key thought leaders on Energy Transition in Saskatchewan. 



Kathleen McNutt, PhD, MA, BA (hon), Vice-President Research, University of Regina



Dr. Margot A. Hurlbert, B.Admin., LL.B., LL.M., Ph.D.

Professor, Canada Research Chair, Tier I

Climate Change, Energy and Sustainability Policy

Centre for the Study of Science and Innovation Policy,

Johnson-Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy, University of Regina


Lesley McGilp, P.Eng, MBA

Vice-President, Energy Division, Saskatchewan Research Council


Patrick Bergermann, Associate Vice-President, Energy Roadmap, FCL


Jordan Baptiste, Director, Business Development, Des Nedhe Group

10:00 am - 10:30 am

Networking Break

10:30 am - 10:50 am


Kimberly Brown, Trade Commissioner, Canadian Trade Commissioner Service

10:35 am - 10:50 am

The Cleanest Basin - Capturing Saskatchewan’s Associated Gas Opportunity


Scott Southward, President & CEO, Steel Reef Infrastructure Corp.

10:50 am - 12:00 pm

Stakeholder Engagement - Indigenous Partnerships, Procurement & Implementation - How do governments and big business move forward to lead real change

While much as been done towards economic reconciliation, there is still much more to be done. The goal of this roundtable  discussion is to consider ways to enhance partnerships, development employment opportunities, increase investment in Indigenous led businesses and create real change. 


Ranjith (Ran) Narayanasamy, President and CEO, Petroleum Technology Research Centre (PTRC)



Chief Alvin Francis, Nekaneet First Nation


Guy Lonechild, Chief Executive Officer, First Nations Power Authority


Kent Campbell, President and CEO, Crown Investments Corporation

12:00 pm - 12:05 pm

Introduction of Hon. Scott Moe, Premier, Government of Saskatchewan

Heather Ryan, President and CEO, Federated Co-operatives Limited

12:05 pm - 12:25 pm

Keynote Address

Honourable Scott Moe, Premier, Government of Saskatchewan

12:30 pm - 1:30 pm



Jeff Kler, Technical Manager - Low Carbon Development, Enbridge


Victoria Clark, Advisor, Low Carbon Development, Enbridge

1:40 pm - 5:00 pm


5:00 pm - 7:00 pm


Exhibition Area

May 18, 2022

LOCATION: Trentino/Tuscany 

7:30 am - 8:00 am

Registration and Breakfast

8:00 am - 8:10 am

Welcoming Remarks

Ranjith (Ran) Narayanasamy, President and CEO, Petroleum Technology Research Centre (PTRC)


Her Worship Sandra Masters, Mayor, City of Regina



Dan Kohlruss, Research Geologist, Saskatchewan Geological Survey, Ministry of Energy and Resources, Government of Saskatchewan


Panel Members:

8:10 am - 8:30 am

Updates from the Ministry of Energy and Resources

Susanna Laaksonen-Craig, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Energy and Resources, Government of Saskatchewan

8:30 am - 8:50 am

Updates from the Ministry of Environment

Mark McLoughlin, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Environment, Government of Saskatchewan

8:50 am - 9:10 am

Updates from the Water Security Agency

Shawn Jaques, Interim President and CEO, Water Security Agency & Thon Phommavong, Acting VP of Regulatory Services, Water Security Agency

9:10 am - 9:20 am


9:20 am

Day 2 Technical Program Begins

12:00 pm - 1:00 pm


Opening Remarks: Lesley McGilp, P.Eng, MBA, Vice-President, Energy Division, Saskatchewan Research Council


PRESENTATION: Dr. Hussameldin Ibrahim, Director, Clean Energy Technologies Research Institute and Professor, Process and Industrial Systems Engineering, University of Regina

May 19, 2022

8:00 am - 4:00 pm

CSEG Short Course

8:00 am - 6:00 pm

Boundary Dam Tour